• Welcome to BGO! We know you will have questions as you become familiar with the software. Please take a moment to read our New BGO User Guide which will give you a great start. If you have questions, post them in the Feedback and Tech Support Forum, or feel free to message any available Staff Member.

The Perfectly Elusive Perfect Burger

Boone

The Commissioner
Staff member
BGO Ownership Group
Reaction score
Military Branch
Marine Corps
Alma Mater
Virginia
I love me a great burger. I’m a pretty skilled cook, especially when it comes to the grill and smoker. But I have never been able to do a great burger. Don’t get me wrong, even a ‘bad burger’ is still pretty damn good, but...

Here’s my issue.I don’t buy pre-made, pre-formed burgers, but hand form my own. The challenge I have run into is figuring out how not to compact the patty as I form it. Mine always come out much more dense than I want. When I eat at a top burger place, the meat in their burgers is very loosely packed and you can still see individual strands of ground beef in them. It’s like a totally different product.

I don’t know if it’s the quality of beef, how they ‘form’ their burgers, or how they are prepared.

I need those of you who make a great burger to share your most closely guarded burger secrets :)

Have you ever used egg to bind the beef? Maybe a little panko bread crumb?

Just don't overfill with either...

I will say this...I rejected Bobby Flay's burger at Bobby's Burger for a loooooong time. That place has a phenomenal burger!

I love me a great burger. I’m a pretty skilled cook, especially when it comes to the grill and smoker. But I have never been able to do a great burger. Don’t get me wrong, even a ‘bad burger’ is still pretty damn good, but...