'Oops ... I got an error message again...'

One of many experimental iterations ...

Boone

GM
Staff member
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
39,891
Reaction score
992
Points
1,944
Location
Greensboro, NC

Marine Corps Virginia


I couldn't resist channeling my inner Britney ...

Since opening the new site, we've experienced an odd little glitch. Sometimes, when replying to a thread, sending a message, or starting a new thread, we've seen 'Oops... something went wrong' messages popping up. Most of the time, simply refreshing and trying again works. Sometimes not. Either way, we obviously want you to be able to use all the site functions without getting error messages. We've seen the 'Oops' warning on desktop use and when using a phone or mobile device.

After discussing with our server host and our Sucuri firewall support, we've made a small setting change. We think this may resolve the issue but since the problem is intermittent, we need your help. If you all could report any instance of the 'Oops' message and also let us know specifically what you were doing when you saw it (replying to a thread, etc..), that would be very helpful.

Thanks in advance for helping us confirm we've either resolved that bug, or helping us track it down if needed!
 

Hog Fever

Vescere bracis meis
Joe Gibbs Club Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
1,644
Reaction score
23
Points
38
Location
Mechanicsville, VA


It would not let me respond to a post in another thread just now. I was attempting to attach a small picture to the post. I attempted to use a URL and I also tried to attach directly from my PC. Image was a JPEG of 9.27k.

"Oops! We ran into some problems. Please try again later. More error details may be in the browser console."

There were no additional details in the console. Windows 10 OS, Firefox version 74 (64 bit).
 

Boone

GM
Staff member
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
39,891
Reaction score
992
Points
1,944
Location
Greensboro, NC

Marine Corps Virginia

Guys - please chime in here and let us know if you are occasionally getting the ‘Oops’ error message, or if you’ve never gotten it. I’m trying to determine if this is global issue or could be more narrow such as some kind of a browser issue.
 

Ax

The Ugly American
Joe Gibbs Club Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2009
Messages
14,999
Reaction score
253
Points
363

I have not received one yet. From none of the 4 different computers I use.
 

Fear The Spear

The Legend
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
19,626
Reaction score
126
Points
343
Location
BGO's Official Resident "Tech Dummy"


I couldn't resist channeling my inner Britney ...

Since opening the new site, we've experienced an odd little glitch. Sometimes, when replying to a thread, sending a message, or starting a new thread, we've seen 'Oops... something went wrong' messages popping up. Most of the time, simply refreshing and trying again works. Sometimes not. Either way, we obviously want you to be able to use all the site functions without getting error messages. We've seen the 'Oops' warning on desktop use and when using a phone or mobile device.

After discussing with our server host and our Sucuri firewall support, we've made a small setting change. We think this may resolve the issue but since the problem is intermittent, we need your help. If you all could report any instance of the 'Oops' message and also let us know specifically what you were doing when you saw it (replying to a thread, etc..), that would be very helpful.

Thanks in advance for helping us confirm we've either resolved that bug, or helping us track it down if needed!
Boone I get the error message repeatedly. Like 99 out of 100 times. However, it is thread-specific ; for me, it ONLY happens is BB's free agency thread for some reason, and no other thread.
 

Boone

GM
Staff member
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
39,891
Reaction score
992
Points
1,944
Location
Greensboro, NC

Marine Corps Virginia

Thanks. I really have no idea yet what’s going on. One idea a support person shared was that folks may have Ad or pop up blockers enabled that may be causing some of the messages. You might check on that and see if that is the issue, or try another browser type and see if the problem occurs there too. It could also have to do with the ignore feature as well.
 

Boone

GM
Staff member
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
39,891
Reaction score
992
Points
1,944
Location
Greensboro, NC

Marine Corps Virginia

Guys - I am trying to improve the site experience for you. Help me - help you. If you are a member, please respond :)
 

Elephant

The Commissioner
Joe Gibbs Club Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2009
Messages
24,712
Reaction score
358
Points
1,113

Florida State

I got an Oops the very first time I tried to sign in when the site hadn't made it's full migration.

Since then, I have not seen one...ever.
 

Boone

GM
Staff member
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
39,891
Reaction score
992
Points
1,944
Location
Greensboro, NC

Marine Corps Virginia

We have made some changes in our Firewall that may have resolved this bug. Please let me know in this thread if you have any instances of the 'Oops...' error messages please. Thanks!
 

Boone

GM
Staff member
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
39,891
Reaction score
992
Points
1,944
Location
Greensboro, NC

Marine Corps Virginia

Has anyone gotten the 'Oops' error message so far today? Fear The Spear I am especially asking for your feedback. If you do see it, I recommend you clear your browser cache/history and see if that resolves it. Please let me know so that I can determine whether this is resolved and I can move on to other things :)
 

Elephant

The Commissioner
Joe Gibbs Club Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2009
Messages
24,712
Reaction score
358
Points
1,113

Florida State

I have not...and if it helps, I am on Safari.
 

Boone

GM
Staff member
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
39,891
Reaction score
992
Points
1,944
Location
Greensboro, NC

Marine Corps Virginia

Thanks. I haven't had a single issue... so far... holding my breath because this has been a frustrating one since it doesn't appear to have anything to do with the Xenforo software itself.
 

ntotoro

The Team Captain
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
2,950
Reaction score
73
Points
78
Location
NoVa


Haven't had any issues on Firefox for Mac or Windows or Safari or iOS or iPadOS.
 

Fear The Spear

The Legend
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
19,626
Reaction score
126
Points
343
Location
BGO's Official Resident "Tech Dummy"


Has anyone gotten the 'Oops' error message so far today? Fear The Spear I am especially asking for your feedback. If you do see it, I recommend you clear your browser cache/history and see if that resolves it. Please let me know so that I can determine whether this is resolved and I can move on to other things :)
Boone, it would probably be more accurate if I answered later today. Because for the past 24 hours we have had a complete internet outage here. We just got our internet service/wifi back on.
So I'll experiment today then let you know
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

Private conversations
Help Users
    You haven't joined any rooms.
    Chat 0
    Top