• Welcome to BGO! We know you will have questions as you become familiar with the software. Please take a moment to read our New BGO User Guide which will give you a great start. If you have questions, post them in the Feedback and Tech Support Forum, or feel free to message any available Staff Member.

WFT Quotes 9/8/20: Dwayne Haskins Jr.

Boone

The Commissioner
Staff member
BGO Ownership Group
Reaction score
Military Branch
Marine Corps
Alma Mater
Virginia

September 8, 2020

QB Dwayne Haskins Jr.

On where his football IQ originated from:
“I’ve been playing football since I was 10 years old. I’m 23 now, so I’ve been playing for 13 years. From a
young age, my father just took me to summer camps, training camps, three-day weekend camps where kids
were playing all summer, watching Scooby Doo. I was in a three-day, staying overnight at a dorm on a college
campus. For me, just the biggest thing is the love for the game at a young age, watching every NFL game I
possibly could growing up and just wanting to learn more about the position and the intricacies of playing
quarterback. I wanted to know about coverages at 10, 13 years old. I wanted to know about blitz pickups and
coverages and things of that nature at a young age so I’d be prepared for whatever I get into when I get older.”

On Ohio State Head Coach Ryan Day’s helped his development:
“Ryan Day was a great coach. I just think the biggest thing with coaches in the collegiate and NFL level is they
get you to understand conceptually what we’re doing as far as how we’re attacking the defense. When you call
the play, when you hear the play call you know that we’re learning this for Cover 4, hit the post versus quarters.
Or if you get man coverage, you have this hot answer versus one-fire where there’s no hole player. Or when, in
some coverage and you know it’s Cover 2, you can learn to see opposite of the mic drop. So, just different