• Welcome to BGO! We know you will have questions as you become familiar with the software. Please take a moment to read our New BGO User Guide which will give you a great start. If you have questions, post them in the Feedback and Tech Support Forum, or feel free to message any available Staff Member.

Pats interception not an interception?

One of many experimental iterations ...

Lanky Livingston

Guest

Via Dan Hellie, The Patriots INT was not an INT after all. Just another in the long list of terrible calls this season. Just awful.

 

Goaldeje

The Legend
Staff member
BGO Ownership Group
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
18,405
Reaction score
58
Points
328
Location
Waynesboro, VA

James Madison

I didn't fault the refs on that one, assuming they had the same camera angles CBS had, cause there wasn't enough visual evidence to overturn.

But that sucks.
 

Boone

The Commissioner
Staff member
BGO Ownership Group
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
41,986
Reaction score
2,557
Points
2,044
Location
Greensboro, NC

Marine Corps Virginia

I'm not sure the ball hitting the turf automatically means it can't be ruled an INT...he has his hand under it (at least partially) and controlled the ball as he rolled. I saw that it looked like it touched the ground on the immediate replay, but it still looked like a legitimate pick to me.
 

burgold

The Team Captain
Joined
Jul 16, 2011
Messages
2,043
Reaction score
0
Points
0


I remember seeing that on the Jumbotron at the stadium and thinking that it could be overturned, but I really didn't think that the refs should or could. I like complaining about the refs... that's one call I don't think they blew.
 

Canadian Hog

2019 BGO Ballers Champ
Staff member
BGO Ownership Group
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
1,388
Reaction score
204
Points
63
Location
Ontario, Canada


I think that these are the types of plays and bad breaks that come with the territory when you are a 4-9 team.

When and if this team ever does get things right and turns the corner, you will notice that we will be on the favourable end of these kinds of plays more often than not.
 

Elephant

The Commissioner
Joe Gibbs Club Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2009
Messages
24,884
Reaction score
504
Points
1,143

Florida State

I'm not sure the ball hitting the turf automatically means it can't be ruled an INT...he has his hand under it (at least partially) and controlled the ball as he rolled. I saw that it looked like it touched the ground on the immediate replay, but it still looked like a legitimate pick to me.
This. ^^^



I was listening to someone a few games ago discussing the rule and if I heard it correctly, the tip of the ball can hit the ground as long as there is obvious possession of the ball in every other aspect of the play.

I will not swear by this, and I am too lazy to look it up but I am pretty sure that is what I heard about the rule.

But **** the refs, the Santana push off was not a push off and they took the game tying TD away from us!
 

Lanky Livingston

Guest
I'm not sure the ball hitting the turf automatically means it can't be ruled an INT...he has his hand under it (at least partially) and controlled the ball as he rolled. I saw that it looked like it touched the ground on the immediate replay, but it still looked like a legitimate pick to me.
The ball can't be moving at all when it hits the ground, or its incomplete. This is the Keyshawn rule. But a hand under the ball isn't the final determinant IIRC - its control of the ball, which you can't see from a still photo. I wasn't able to watch the game, so I don't know if he had control or not.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

Private conversations
Help Users
    Top