• Welcome to BGO! We know you will have questions as you become familiar with the software. Please take a moment to read our New BGO User Guide which will give you a great start. If you have questions, post them in the Feedback and Tech Support Forum, or feel free to message any available Staff Member.

A day we will always remember, 9-11-01

SC_RedskinsFan

The Starter
Reaction score
Military Branch
Marine Corps
Today is a day that everyone knows where they were and what they were doing...... What is your story...

I had gotten out of the USMC 3 months prior to 9-11-01. I was an electrician working on of all things a Army Generals house, on Browns Island, just outside of Beaufort SC. I remember hearing on the radio when the first plane hit. Then a few minutes later they broke into the radio again that the second plane hit.... That was a total surreal feeling. We hardly worked that morning. A hour or so later the General stopped by and asked if we had heard what happened, we said yes. He said that he was heading to the Marine Corps Air Station and a plane was taking him to the Pentagon, and that this was very bad....

I remember being outside looking in the air and seeing to contrail trails in the sky, and that area is like the I-95 for planes. All we could hear and see were F-18's from the Air Station taking off and flying around. I later learned that President Bush and Air Force One were sitting on the tarmac at the Air Station for a while that day, and that is why the sky was filled with fighter jets.

I remember telling the guy I was working with that I thought obl was behind it..... When I was overseas a few years earlier we had warning that he had prices on American Military Troops heads. I don't want this to get political, just part of my thoughts for that day.

It is a day we will all remember and we should make sure that the next generation knows as well so it doesn't happen again....