A Burgundy and Gold Obsession
Game 12 - Philly. No biggie. Just a season in the balance ...

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Disagree Disagree:  0
Post of the Year Post of the Year:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Join Date
    07-15-09
    Location
    Hermosa Beach, California
    Posts
    359
    Post Responses
    Thanks, Likes, & More
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Ruling Question...

    Had this question pop into my mind while watching the game yesterday.....didn't think of it until just now.

    When a field goal attempt is blocked, isn't the ball still a live ball at that point? I mean, it's not the same as an extra point, correct? In theory, it could be run run down by either team and either fallen on or advanced, right? For the defense, it could be run back the other way. For the offense, someone could run down and grab the ball, right? If it's past the first down marker, then yay!

    Reason I ask in particular is that after our field goal attempt was blocked I remember seeing the ball bounding down near the Bill's 5-yard line while their players all ran off the field celebrating. Couldn't a Redskin have run down and grabbed the ball?

    I'm flashing back to Mike Bass in 1973 here Sean Taylor's miracle against the Cowboys......somebody help me out.

    Thanks, in advance.
    0 0 0 0
     
     
    HTTR

  2. #2
    BGObsessed
    Join Date
    09-28-10
    Location
    BGO's Official Resident "Tech Dummy"
    Posts
    9,242
    Post Responses
    Thanks, Likes, & More
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)

    Default

    I don't see why the rules would not allow the offense to advance it, if they allow the defense. The only possible explanations I can think of for yesterday's play, is either it bounced out of bounds, or the Skins simply were not playing heads-up ball on that play, just like they weren't playing heads-up for the rest of the game.
    0 0 0 0
     
     

  3. #3
    BGObsessed
    Join Date
    05-17-10
    Posts
    1,226
    Post Responses
    Thanks, Likes, & More
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Navy

    Default

    once it hits the ground its dead like a punt if the bills had had someone back there they could have advanced it if it was caught. i am not sure on an actuall block but i think as long as it doesnt cross the line of scrimmage either team can advance the ball
    0 0 0 0
     
     

  4. #4
    BGObsessed
    Join Date
    07-16-11
    Posts
    1,024
    Post Responses
    Thanks, Likes, & More
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Default

    It was the lack of a ten second run off and freebie do-over that I didn't get. Still not sure that the refs made the right call there. Didn't matter in the least in how the game played out, but still. Seems kind of cheap to reward a team racing to get a play off to avoid running down the clock with an extra play when they couldn't get assembled. Heck, if that's the case all you need to do is get the qb and center. Snap, spike and take your five yard penalty.
    0 0 0 0
     
     

  5. #5

    Join Date
    07-15-09
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    13,516
    Post Responses
    Thanks, Likes, & More
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Florida Atlantic

    Default

    Once the offense "kicks" the ball in any form, its just like a punt. Its conceding possession, just as if it was a punt. The only exception would be if one of the Bills defenders touched the ball past the line of scrimmage (just like a punt), then it is a live ball.

    The only time a team can kick the ball and then recover it is on the kickoff.
    0 0 0 0
     
     

  6. #6

    Join Date
    07-15-09
    Location
    Hermosa Beach, California
    Posts
    359
    Post Responses
    Thanks, Likes, & More
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lanky Livingston View Post
    The only exception would be if one of the Bills defenders touched the ball past the line of scrimmage (just like a punt), then it is a live ball.
    I understand what you're saying....however, a block could be considered a "touch", yes? Also, what about when a team attempts a crazy long FG and the defense puts a returner back there? They can return the ball.....and if they muff that catch I would guess it'd be a live ball, right? What about if a kick is blocked but the ball never touches the ground before it's caught by the kicking team?

    In Super Bowl VII Garo Yepremium's kick is blocked and the ball bounces on the ground. He picks it up, muffs a pass and Mike Bass picks it off. It's returned for a TD. Definitely not a dead ball.

    Against the Cowboys, Sean Taylor picks up a blocked kick and runs it down into field goal range (with the help of a face mask penalty). Not a dead ball.

    Now, both these examples are of defensive players running with a blocked kick.....but what if an offensive player picks it up? Is it really just dead? What if he falls on it past the 1st down marker? Still turning the ball over on downs, or is it now a 1st down? A penalty would get you the 1st if that were to happen....why not this?

    I absolutely get what you're saying, but there just seems to be some holes here. Anybody have a link to the rulebook?

    Oh, and if I never get a clear answer I won't lose any sleep over it. :-) Just curious......
    0 0 0 0
     
     
    HTTR

  7. #7

    Join Date
    07-15-09
    Location
    Hermosa Beach, California
    Posts
    359
    Post Responses
    Thanks, Likes, & More
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Okay!! Thanks to the infinite power of the internet, here is the answer!!

    To sum up (if I'm interpreting this correctly), if we'd gotten the ball past the 1st down marker it would have been our ball once again. And yeah, we could have advanced it.

    FIELD GOAL OVER AND BACK—UNTOUCHED BEYOND THE LINE
    Fourth-and-10 on B25. A1’s field-goal attempt from the B32 is partially blocked, hits on the B22, and then bounces back to the B27, untouched by anyone beyond the line. A2 recovers the ball at the B27 and he a) is downed there; b) runs with the ball to the B17; c) runs with the ball to the B14; or d) throws a pass from the B27, which is complete to A3 at the B10.
    Rulings: a) B’s ball, first-and-10 on B32; b) B’s ball, first-and-10 on B17; c) A’s ball, first-and-10 on B14;
    d) A’s ball, fourth-and-15 on B30. Illegal pass, as the ball has been beyond the line.


    A.R. 9.12 FIELD-GOAL ATTEMPT—TEAM B TOUCHES—TEAM A RECOVERS
    Fourth-and-6 on B31. On a field-goal attempt, receiver B1 muffs the ball in flight in the end zone and the ball is recovered in the end zone by A7.
    Ruling: Touchdown Team A. Kickoff A35.
    0 0 0 0
     
     
    HTTR

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Question about the first round:
    By Skinsfan76 in forum Sons of Washington
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-01-11, 12:29 PM

User Tag List

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •