• Welcome to BGO! We know you will have questions as you become familiar with the software. Please take a moment to read our New BGO User Guide which will give you a great start. If you have questions, post them in the Feedback and Tech Support Forum, or feel free to message any available Staff Member.

Vegetable Garden Tips, Complaints, Concerns & Discussion

Nobody

Super Bowl MVP
Reaction score
Military Branch
Army
I'd be willing to assume that me and Boone aren't the only ones here growing our own vegetables this year. One thing I have learned over the years is how to do and how not to do certain things.

I have extensive knowledge on just about anything you can grow, so feel free to ask if you're having any problems. In the past few years, I have learned that organic pesticides/herbicides/etc. are a lot more effective than the commercial poisons, and having kids and dogs it is also a better option for me for the safety aspect of it.

So this year, I expanded my garden and have gone with the following lineup:

1. Roma Tomatoes
2. Ichiban Eggplants
3. Spaghetti Squash
4. Zucchini
5. Tomatillos
6. Anaheim Chili Peppers
7. Tobasco Peppers
8. Bell Peppers
9. Celery
10. Carrots
11. Spanish Onions
12. Garlic
13. Collards
14. Cucumbers
15. Pole Beans
16. Sweet White Corn
17. Broccoli
18. Okra

I have done experimentation over the years and have learned what I can and can't work with in this area due to weather and soil conditions, and so I planted everything I could this year.

For those who don't know what the soil conditions are like in the Tidewater area, it's a massive clay bank. The first two years I was at it was just soil preparation. I was able to track down something called clay buster. I don't know why it works, but it basically decomposes the clay into a more workable medium.