For Immediate Release
November 17, 2017


LOUDOUN COUNTY, Va. – The Washington Redskins announced today that they have named safety DeAngelo Hall the winner of the team’s 2017 Ed Block Courage Award. The honor is given annually to a player from each National Football League team who displays extraordinary courage in the face of adversity.

Hall missed multiple games in each of the last three seasons – including the majority of the 2014 and 2016 campaigns – while fighting Achilles, toe and knee injuries. His 2014 season ended prematurely after three games after he suffered a ruptured left Achilles tendon, and last season, he was limited to three games after suffering a torn ACL in his right knee.

The Redskins activated Hall from their Reserve/Physically Unable to Perform list on Nov. 3, as the 14th-year NFL veteran returned to action in the team’s 17-14 win against the Seattle Seahawks in Week 9.

“DeAngelo has been remarkably resilient through a number of tough injuries,” Redskins Head Athletic Trainer Larry Hess said. “Throughout various rehabilitation processes in the last few years, he has been a true professional as exemplified by his commitment, his hard work and his dedication to return to the playing field with his teammates.”

Hall, who will turn 34 during Sunday’s contest against the New Orleans Saints, has appeared in 103 career regular season games with the Redskins since joining the team in 2008. He is one of nine defensive backs in team history to appear in 100 career regular season games with the Redskins, and he is currently the longest-tenured player on the team’s roster.

The Courage Award is named after Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. The inaugural Ed Block Courage Award was presented in 1978 to Baltimore Colts defensive end Joe Ehrmann. Following the Colts’ departure from Baltimore in 1984, the scope of the award expanded to include one player from every team in the NFL.


2017 DeAngelo Hall
2016 Niles Paul
2015 Morgan Moses
2014 Keenan Robinson
2013 Robert Griffin III
2012 Kory Lichtensteiger
2011 Stephen Bowen
2010 Ma’ake Kemoeatu
2009 Phillip Daniels
2008 Reed Doughty
2007 Marcus Washington
2006 Randy Thomas
2005 Khary Campbell
2004 Brandon Noble
2003 Fred Smoot
2002 Chris Samuels
2001 Cory Raymer
2000 James Thrash
1999 Tre’ Johnson
1998 Darrell Green
1997 James Jenkins
1996 Ed Simmons
1995 Keith Taylor
1994 Mark Schlereth
1993 Art Monk
1992 Anthony Johnson
1991 Donnie Warren
1990 Joe Jacoby
1989 Neil Olkewicz
1988 Doug Williams
1987 Mel Kaufman
1986 Darryl Grant
1985 Ken Huff
1984 Mark May


Posted With Tapatalk