A Burgundy and Gold Obsession
    Where do you HAIL from?

    Where do you HAIL from?

    BGO wants to know! With members from Ashburn to as far away as Australia, BGO's geographic footprint continues to grow. We'd love to have all our members add their location pin to our community Member Map. We've just updated and improved our Member Map, and hope you'll stop by, check it out, and mark your territory!

    • Skins Name LB Keenan Robinson Winner of Ed Block Courage Award

      For Immediate Release
      November 11, 2014


      LOUDOUN COUNTY, Va. – The Washington Redskins announced today that they have named linebacker Keenan Robinson the winner of the team’s 2014 Ed Block Courage Award. The honor is given annually to a player from each National Football League team who displays extraordinary courage in the face of adversity.

      Robinson has started all nine games for the Redskins this season, compiling a team-high 75 tackles (49 solo), according to NFL GSIS, with 1.5 sacks, one forced fumble, one fumble recovery and one interception. In Week 7, Robinson earned NFC Defensive Player of the Week honors following a performance in which he posted a career-high and game-high 14 tackles in a win against the Tennessee Titans, becoming the first Redskins linebacker to earn the honor since Brian Orakpo in Week 4 of the 2011 season.

      Robinson’s standout performance in 2014 comes after consecutive campaigns in which pectoral tears ended his 2012 and 2013 seasons prematurely. In his rookie year in 2012, Robinson’s season ended after he tore his right pectoral during a Thanksgiving Day win against the Dallas Cowboys. The following season, he suffered a tear to his left pectoral in training camp.

      “After his second surgery in two years, Keenan knew what it took to work hard since he had just gotten done rehabbing from his right pec and was disappointed to tear his left pec. He worked hard again, missing another season, and put in time and effort throughout the whole 2013 season, rehabbing in the offseason as well. He came back at full strength and ready to go for 2014,” Redskins Head Athletic Trainer Larry Hess said. “He has played at a high level as the starting middle linebacker. He continues to work hard and just really showed a lot of dedication and determination coming back on the field after sustaining two season-ending injuries back-to-back.”
      The Courage Award is named after Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. The inaugural Ed Block Courage Award was presented in 1978 to Baltimore Colts defensive end Joe Ehrmann. Following the Colts’ departure from Baltimore in 1984, the scope of the award expanded to include one player from every team in the NFL.

      “This is definitely an honor to be chosen by my teammates,” Robinson said. “I put a lot of work in during the last two seasons to get back from these two injuries. I’m just glad I’m now able to contribute to this team.”


      2014 Keenan Robinson
      2013 Robert Griffin III
      2012 Kory Lichtensteiger
      2011 Stephen Bowen
      2010 Ma’ake Kemoeatu
      2009 Phillip Daniels
      2008 Reed Doughty
      2007 Marcus Washington
      2006 Randy Thomas
      2005 Khary Campbell
      2004 Brandon Noble
      2003 Fred Smoot
      2002 Chris Samuels
      2001 Cory Raymer
      2000 James Thrash
      1999 Tre’ Johnson
      1998 Darrell Green
      1997 James Jenkins
      1996 Ed Simmons
      1995 Keith Taylor
      1994 Mark Schlereth
      1993 Art Monk
      1992 Anthony Johnson
      1991 Donnie Warren
      1990 Joe Jacoby
      1989 Neil Olkewicz
      1988 Doug Williams
      1987 Mel Kaufman
      1986 Darryl Grant
      1985 Ken Huff
      1984 Mark May
      This article was originally published in forum thread: Skins Name LB Keenan Robinson Winner of Ed Block Courage Award started by Boone View original post
    • BGO Twitter Feed

    • Currently Active UsersCurrently Online

      There are currently 180 users online. 10 members and 170 guests

      Most users ever online was 1,521, 05-26-12 at 01:30 PM.

      1. Ax,
      2. Boone,
      3. DieselPwr44,
      4. DixieFlatline,
      5. Knightingale,
      6. ntotoro,
      7. Rymanofthenorth,
      8. Shi no Tenshi,
      9. Solitary Man
    • Countdown Clock

      00 00 00 00
    • BGO Mail

      Join Our BGO Mail List

      Sign-up here to receive our BGO site emails. Keep abreast of breaking Redskins and BGO news, events, contests, and announcements!
    • BGO Game Day Chat

      Be There.

      Or be square.
    • NFC East Standings

    • 2018 Schedule

    • BGO Premium

      Help us, help YOU!
      Become a


      Make a Site Donation today and join the ranks of the Immortals!
    • Get Tapatalk!

      Tapatalk is one of the best ways to view BGO on your iPhone, Android, or Windows Phone. Android app on Google Play Download on App Store
    • BGO Friends

    • Week's Top Articles

    • NFL Spy

      Quick access to NFL rival fan forums and all official team sites!

      Visit the Enemy
    • BGO On Twitter